Residents of Turkey and Russia are now permitted to move freely between the two countries as of April 16th 2011.The rule change is the culmination of lengthy discussions between the nations, resulting in a bilateral agreement being struck in 2010. This means Turkish residents will not need a Russian visa to enter the country and Russian nationals will not need a visa to enter Turkey. The deal allows Turkish and Russian citizens to travel for up to 30 days without a visa. Previously, residents of Russia and Turkey were required to obtain a visa just to enter either country.