As of December 19th, 2011, Liechtenstein is the newest member of the Schengen Area.

The Schengen Agreement was signed initially by seven countries on June 14th, 1985 and was implemented ten years later, ending the internal border check and controls. A Schengen visa holder is allowed to stay for up to 90 cumulative days within a given 180-day period for business or tourism purposes, and can travel anywhere within the Schengen territory. Not all European Union members are part of the agreement, and four of its signatories are Non-EU member states.

The Schengen Area comprises the territories of twenty-six European countries that have implemented the Schengen Agreement. The member countries are: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.